*spoilers* Thoughts on Life is Strange: Warren Graham

I love Warren. He is my favourite character hands down. He’s the best friend I wish I had. He speaks my language, and I don’t just mean fandom slang. I can relate to how he expresses himself by referencing the movies and shows he likes. Okay so his comment about laughing his ass off at Cannibal Holocaust kinda weirded me out but I don’t think he really meant that, at least I hope so. Because if he’s anything like me I believe he only said that to look cool just as how I said I laughed at A Serbian Film or how I snort at jumpscares in any horror film or video game just to show people I don’t get scared like most girls (hate to admit it but I’m always pitting myself against other girls, I am the alpha female xD). I also love how Warren recommends the things he love or the things he believes would interest Max. I know he’s doing that because he wants to show Max a part of his soul, at least that’s what I think when I do it. I honestly think Warren and I could be good friends.

Warren is not a perfect person though and even though Marren is my OTP in this game I cannot brush off how clingy he gets with Max to the point of awkwardness and not in a good way. I really think Max and Warren are really cute together and they could actually work out but the dude’s thirst is fucking real yo. In the flashlight maze of Max’s dream sequence in the final episode Warren was there. I wasn’t sure why he was there when all the other guys who were in that maze were people that Max feels threatened by. Mr. Jefferson, Principal Wells, Mr. Madsen, Frank, Nathan, even Samuel (come on we’ve seen his room). So why was Warren there? I know he gets too close for comfort at times and it’s kinda awkward how he pushes himself to Max. I didn’t think much of it other than he was being his “awkward-around-girls” thing but that was until I saw his locker in Max’s dream sequence.

Max’s dream sequence was generated by her own thoughts, I wasn’t aware until that moment that Max believes Warren has an unhealthy obsession with her and consider him as a threat. I didn’t know about how Max felt, I only saw how much they’d be so cute together so I really didn’t mind Warren’s clinginess. In my previous post, I said I believed that Max had a mind of her own even if I made the choices for her so even if I accepted Warren’s advances, Max doesn’t agree to it wholeheartedly. Yeah I made Max kiss him and as much as I love watching the scene, I feel horrible now for pushing Max to believe that maybe she does like him when I kept on accepting Warren’s advances. Maybe Max would return Warren’s feelings for her in her own accord, but I’m sure she wouldn’t with the way he was acting around her. The worst part is Warren probably doesn’t see how much he’s making her feel uncomfortable.

So why would Max still keep Warren around when she sees him as a threat? In Max’s journal entry, this is what she has to say about Warren:

I don’t think he would ever lie to me. It feels good to have at least one strong ally the same age here… And he makes me smile.

She keeps him around for the same reason she keeps Chloe around, “Stockholm Syndrome” or so Max’s other self said in the diner in her dream sequence. Chloe pushes Max around a lot and Max would readily submit to the peer pressure because she believes that Chloe is her friend. Chloe probably sees her as a friend too but I don’t think she sees how much she’s pushing Max around, like Warren. Max can stand up to herself when she wants to like how she stood up against Victoria, Mr. Madsen, Nathan, and Mr. Jefferson but even if she knows, at least at the back of her mind, that Warren and Chloe weren’t really treating her all that well, not many people really “care” for her in the same level that Warren and Chloe does so she just plays along because she doesn’t want to lose them.

12107212_10205074524724371_1457623687465750108_n

In her jounral entry Max doesn’t necessarily call Warren a friend even if the two of them seem like it, she just refers to him as an ally. Being her only “one strong ally” I would assume that he was her closest companion when he first got to Blackwell but after she sees Chloe again she has become rather distant to Warren. Maybe if he didn’t make her feel uncomfortable she wouldn’t have distanced herself from him just like that. Warren is charming and adorable but close that dating sim app (I assume he plays them because he loves anime xD), man, your affectionate level with Max won’t increase by forcing encounters with her. Marren is still my OTP but Warren, you have to work with me here and control that thirst. xD

*spoilers* Thoughts on Life is Strange: Warren Graham

2 thoughts on “*spoilers* Thoughts on Life is Strange: Warren Graham

  1. purpleism says:

    I thought it was weird to see Warren in the dream sequence, could have something to do with him being “friend-zoned”. I don’t know know if Max actually has feelings for him, she does seem upset to see him with Stella in the alternate timeline but totally ships him with Brooke.

    Frankly, I ship her with the skater guy she refers to as cute in the very beginning. Was it Trevor? It was interesting that Max encounters him a few times in the game but never has any dialogue with him.

    Like

    1. But if it had something to do with the friendzoning I don’t think the friendzoner would feel threatened by the person they friendzoned. Maybe Warren is a special case but the rest of the guys in her dream sequence fit the category of “guys who have threatened Max or made Max feel unsafe in some way” and Warren’s locker in her dream sequence just proves that that’s what she thinks about Warren’s invasive tendencies even if she doesn’t voice them out.

      I like her and Trevor too. Also Max and Luke’s interactions make for an interesting platonic or romantic relationship too, he seems to get along well with Max but he seems to be the loner type.

      Like

Leave a comment